Schedule of
Tetanus Toxoid

Tetanus is a bacterial infection caused by bacteria named Clostridium tetani. It represents as painful muscle spasm or contraction, particularly in the jaw and neck.

It can also interfere with the ability to breathe, eventually causing death.

Tetanus is preventable disease by vaccination known as tetanus toxoid/TT.

Child is vaccinated with tetanus toxoid with 3 doses in childhood in combination to prevent diseases like diphtheria, pertussis (whooping cough), Hepatitis B & Haemophilus type B at regular intervals

First 3 doses are given at intervals of one month starting from at the age of 6 to 8 weeks.

The fifth or 2nd Booster dose is given at 5 years of age.

The fourth or 1st Booster dose is given at 18 months of age.

After this DTaP vaccine or Tdap vaccine is given at the age of 10 years

If you are an adult, you should take the Tetanus vaccine at an interval of 10 years.

You don't need the vaccine after every injury.

But many times person with wound is uncertain of when he/she was last vaccinated or if he/she had fewer than three-lifetime doses of the vaccine, should take the vaccine after consulting a doctor.

For more

Click Here